Long Island High School For The Arts Awards Scholarships To Graduates

LIHSA students take their final bow. (Photo courtesy of Nassau BOCES)

As the Nassau BOCES Long Island High School for the Arts (LIHSA) Class of 2018 bid farewell to their alma mater this summer, 22 students walked away with major scholarships to help them along their respective paths. These students were honored for a variety of achievements in their chosen disciplines.

Anna Zerella of the Levittown UFSD earned the Janice Aguilera Scholarship, presented to a dedicated and passionate dancer who is always willing to collaborate with and support her fellow student artists. Sabrina Greig of the Bethpage UFSD won the Melinda Bengels Scholarship for demonstrating great potential in dance. Abigail Flicker of the Locust Valley CSD earned the Seymour Weiner Scholarship for making this year’s most outstanding achievement to the performing arts.

Emma Boudin of the Half Hollow Hills CSD won the Gertrude McGuire Scholarship for outstanding achievement in the visual arts and significant contributions to her school community. Alex Pinals of the Northport-East Northport UFSD earned the Ava M. Favara Scholarship for consistently demonstrating the qualities of leadership, good citizenship and generosity of spirit.

Ta’Keal Grier of the Hempstead UFSD won the Claire Q. Jackman Scholarship for outstanding achievement and significant contributions to his school community. Andrew Culbreath, also of Hempstead, received the Chrysalis Scholarship in remembrance of former LIHSA student Meghan Murphy.

Fifteen graduates earned the Long Island High School for the Arts Scholarship, the legacy of Founding Principal Ava Favara in memory of her husband Anthony. The winners of the LIHSA Scholarship are: Elias Alfau and Alyssa Marcolini of the East Meadow UFSD; Andrew Culbreath of the Hempstead UFSD; Sabrina Greig of the Bethpage UFSD; Jaxon Hickey of the Hicksville UFSD; Alexis Holt of the Baldwin UFSD; Dylan Hutchins and Brandyn Royere of the Locust Valley CSD; Erin McDonagh and Sara Meade of the Northport-East Northport UFSD; Emma Boudin and Christina Mehr of the Half Hollow Hills CSD; Alyssa Mener, Julie O’Neill and Emma Parsons of the Massapequa UFSD; Jada Roberts Duncan of the Amityville UFSD; Monica Spinelli of the Long Beach City SD; and Arielle Waters of the Bellmore-Merrick CHSD.

Established in 1973, LIHSA is part of the public education system and is paid for by local school districts. It offers specialized training and instruction to students interested in pursuing careers in dance, drama, filmmaking, instrumental and vocal music, theatre technology, musical theatre and the visual arts.

For more information about Long Island High School for the Arts, visit www.nassauboces.org/LIHSA.

—Submitted by Nassau BOCES

Leave a Reply