Introducing The 2016 Nassau BOCES Education Partners

BOCES logoThis spring, Nassau BOCES will honor 13 people and organizations that have had a profound effect on public education in Nassau County. Celebrating its 10th year, the Nassau BOCES Education Partners Awards program pays tribute to outstanding community and business leaders, civil servants, nonprofit executives and volunteers, organizations, school board members, students, teachers and Nassau BOCES employees. During its 10-year history, the award program has honored more than 100 education partners. This year’s honorees will receive their awards at the awards gala on Wednesday, April 13.

“The honorees come from all walks of life and reflect the diversity that is Nassau BOCES. Their work encourages the development of lifelong learners and global citizens, which mirrors our goals as well,” said Nassau BOCES Assistant to the District Superintendent Dr. Robert Hanna.

Following are the 2016 Education Partner Awards honorees, by category:

Education Partners

  • David S. Feller, superintendent, North Merrick UFSD
  • Dr. John Gangemi, founder, Nassau BOCES Educational Foundation
  • Dr. Phyllis S. Harrington, superintendent, Oceanside UFSD
  • Charles Osgood, host, CBS Sunday Morning News and The Osgood Files
  • Catherine S. Pucciarelli, chairperson, Nassau BOCES Educational Foundation
  • Donna Raphael, director of youth services and community relations, Family and Children’s Association
  • Eric Scott, grounds keeper, Hewlett-Woodmere UFSD
  • Steven Skrynecki, chief of department, Nassau County Police Department

Board Member

  • Deborah Coates, district clerk, Nassau BOCES


  • Plaza Theatrical Productions, Inc., Kevin Harrington, president/producer


  • Amanda Aronoff, Senior, John F. Kennedy High School, Bellmore-Merrick CHSD


  • April Francis, lead social studies teacher, Lawrence Road Middle School, Uniondale UFSD
  • Casimir J. Rappa, retired instructor, Nassau BOCES Adult Education

    Visit for information about the awards, including profiles of prior-year honorees.

Anton Media Staff
In addition to its arts and entertainment publication Long Island Weekly, Anton Media Group publishes 16 community newspapers, several magazines, specialty publications and websites. With brands dating back to 1877, Anton has a commitment to deliver trusted and relevant content to the communities it serves.

Leave a Reply




Martin Freeman’s Fave Punk Bands

It all started with a dream for Martin Freeman. That was the seed planted for Breeders, a British-American dark comedy about parenting co-created by...

A Sophisticated Diner Experience: Grand Menu Offerings At Grand Lux Cafe

The sophisticated Grand Lux Cafe at Roosevelt Field Mall offers an expansive menu that can rival any of the best American diners. There is...

Syosset Principal Launching 50th College Admissions Process Podcast Episode  

Syosset High School Principal, Dr. John Durante, launched a podcast in February with the goal of providing insights straight from college admission professionals of...

Governor Hochul & Murphy’s $7 Billion Dollar Penn Station Redevelopment Boondoogle Does Nothing For Riders At Platform Level Waiting For A Train

The renovation of Penn Station, estimated to cost around $7 billion, may include consolidating the concourse waiting area into one level, constructing more escalators,...

Devin Way: Genuine and Ready to Soar

In the course of interviewing people, you meet a lot of people, talk to a lot of people, hear a lot of stories and...

Get Updates Via Email

Enter your email to be updated with all the latest news and special announcements.