Big Apple Rookies Of The Year

Derek Jeter
Derek Jeter

Now that the Chicago Cubs have broken their century-plus curse and the World Series is in our rear-view mirror, the Major League Baseball is getting ready to hand out significant hardware as voted on by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Winners of the Most Valuable Player, Cy Young, Manager of the Year and Rookie of the Year will be announced through Nov. 17.

This year, our only local representative is slugging New York Yankees catcher Gary Sanchez, who despite only coming up on Aug. 3, proceeded to hit 20 home runs in his first 51 games, tying Wally Berger for the fastest to that number. This unprecedented feat made him the first player to hit 20 after not hitting his first until after Aug. 1, per Elias.

Between the four baseball franchises that have called New York home, they are responsible for 18 players who have won this highly coveted award.

01onerookieoftheyear_111816nyyankeesNew York Yankees (8)

The Bronx Bombers are best represented here. Third baseman Gil McDougald (.306/14HR/63RBI) kicked it off in 1951 and was followed by 1954 pitcher Bob Grim (3.26/199 innings pitched/20-6), 1957 shortstop Tony Kubek (.297/56 runs/39 RBI), 1962 shortstop Tom Tresh (.286/20HR/93RBI), 1968 hurler Stan Bahnsen (2.05/267 1/3 innings pitched/17-12), 1970 catcher Thurman Munson (.302/53RBI/.801OBS), 1981 pitcher Dave Righetti (2.05/105 1/3 innings pitched/1.07 WHIP) and 1996 shortstop Derek Jeter (.314/183H/78RBI).

02tworookieoftheyear_111816nymetsNew York Mets (5)

The Metropolitans have a respectable showing starting with Hall of Fame hurler Tom Seaver (2.76/251 innings pitched/16-13) in 1967 and succeeded by 1972 pitcher Jon Matlack (2.32/244 innings pitched/15-10), 1983 outfielder Daryl Strawberry (.257/26HR/74RBI), 1984 pitcher Dwight “Doc” Gooden (2.60/276K/17-9) and 2014 pitcher Jacob deGrom (2.69/1.14WHIP/144K).

03threerookieoftheyear_111816brooklyndodgersBrooklyn Dodgers (4)

The inaugural award was won by future Hall of Famer Jackie Robinson, who eventually wound up having it named after him. Robinson’s 1947 stats were .297/125R/29 SB, and he was followed by 1949 pitcher Don Newcombe (3.17 ERA/5 shutouts/17-8), 1952 hurler Joe Black (2.15 ERA/15 saves/15-4) and 1953 second baseman Jim Gilliam (.278/17 triples/125R).

04fourrookieoftheyear_111816nygiantsNew York Giants (1)

FutureHall of Famer Willie Mays was the only Giant to score this award. His stat-line (.274/20HR/68 RBI) won him Rookie of the Year in 1951. Shortly after the Giants moved to San Francisco, two first-basemen, Orlando Cepeda (.312/25HR/96 RBI) and Willie McCovey (.354/13HR/38RBI), won it in 1958 and 1959 respectively.

Dave Gil de Rubio
In addition to being editor of theNassau Observer, Dave Gil de Rubio is a regular contributor to Long Island Weekly, specializing in music and sports features. He has won several awards for writing from Press Club of Long Island (PCLI), New York Press Association (NYPA) and Fair Media Council (FMC).

Leave a Reply




Art League’s ‘Cynthia Pascal: A Retrospective’ Opens April 15

The Art League of Long Island announces the retrospective exhibit of Cynthia Pascal in the Jeanne Tengelsen Gallery. The opening reception takes place on...

Got A Mystery Mutt? DNA Testing!

My family has always rescued dogs. From the time I was little, I can recall the click-clack of paws on our tile floors, floating...

Immigrant Stories: From Tokyo To Long Island, By Way Of Tattoo School

Growing up in Tokyo, Japan, Nasa Tsuchiya always loved to draw. As a child she had a strong interest in anime and the art...

Halloween In March

Halloween was about five months ago, but I still love anything spooky or creepy no matter what time of year. My name is Jennifer and...

Cult-Classic “The Room” Celebrates 20 Years

The Room is known as the worse movie ever made, but many consider it the best. The plot follows a successful bank executive named Johny,...

Get Updates Via Email

Enter your email to be updated with all the latest news and special announcements.