Best Of High School Journalism Award Winners

Best Of High School Journalism Award Winners
The JerEcho took home the award for best online publication.

Last week, Anton Media Group published a story on the Best of High School Journalism Awards (“Media Matters,” April 5-11) at LIU Post on March 24. Due to the sheer number of awards presented, we could not include all winners with the feature story. In an effort to honor all of the young journalists, we present the winners, who were given awards after experiencing an interactive workshop at the LIU Post media facilities, with programs including WCWP radio station, PTV television studio, Pioneer newsroom and the public relations program.

Best Commentary/Editorial

  • First Place—Christine Seo and Nicole Rosenthal, Half Hollow Hills High School West
  • Second place (tie)—Sara Kopp, Cold Spring Harbor High School; Roselle Cacio, Glen Cove High School
  • Third place (tie)—Emilio Fredericks, Valley Stream South High School; Steven
    Keehner, Oyster Bay High School
  • Honorable Mention—Eleni Kothesakis, New Hyde Park Memorial High School

Best Sports Story

  • First Place—Marlie Allen and Megan Konfino, Commack High School
  • Second Place—Evan Schneider, Lynbrook High School
  • Third Place—Emily Cozza, Patchogue-Medford High School Honorable Mention—Maggie Robinson, Freeport High School
Jericho’s Maya Masheb won second place for her feature “Testing Religion.”

Best Feature Story

  • First Place—Aamna Arshad, Midwood High School
  • Second Place (tie)—Joselyne Bermudez, Lynbrook High School; Maya Masheb, Jericho High School
  • Third Place (tie)—Crystal Pires, Bayside High School; Juliana Sikorski, Commack High School
  • Honorable Mention—Emily Glennon, East Islip High School
  • Honorable Mention—Ceylan Swenson, Northport High School

Best News Story

  • First Place—Zack Abrams and James Oldham, Commack High School
  • Second Place—Lauren Taglienti, Kellenberg High School
  • Third Place (tie)—Samantha Stern, Hewlett High School; Karen Sacta and Beatriz Gomez de Castro, Hillcrest High School
  • Honorable Mention—Jane Krol, Oceanside High School

Best Online Publication

  • First Place (tie)—The Red & Black, Patchogue-Medford High School; The JerEcho, Jericho High School
  • Second Place—Sider Press, Oceanside High School
  • Third Place—The Johnny Green, Weedsport High School
  • Honorable Mention—The Mary Helper, Mary Help of Christians Academy

Best High School Newspaper

  • First Place (tie)—Hewlett Spectrum, George W. Hewlett High School; Horizon, Lynbrook High School
  • Second Place (tie)—The Phoenix, Kellenberg High School; Kings Herald, Kings Park High School
  • Third Place (tie)—Broadcaster, East Islip High School; The Jet Gazette, East Meadow High School
Anton Media Staff
In addition to its arts and entertainment publication Long Island Weekly, Anton Media Group publishes 16 community newspapers, several magazines, specialty publications and websites. With brands dating back to 1877, Anton has a commitment to deliver trusted and relevant content to the communities it serves.

Leave a Reply




Art League’s ‘Cynthia Pascal: A Retrospective’ Opens April 15

The Art League of Long Island announces the retrospective exhibit of Cynthia Pascal in the Jeanne Tengelsen Gallery. The opening reception takes place on...

Got A Mystery Mutt? DNA Testing!

My family has always rescued dogs. From the time I was little, I can recall the click-clack of paws on our tile floors, floating...

Immigrant Stories: From Tokyo To Long Island, By Way Of Tattoo School

Growing up in Tokyo, Japan, Nasa Tsuchiya always loved to draw. As a child she had a strong interest in anime and the art...

Halloween In March

Halloween was about five months ago, but I still love anything spooky or creepy no matter what time of year. My name is Jennifer and...

Cult-Classic “The Room” Celebrates 20 Years

The Room is known as the worse movie ever made, but many consider it the best. The plot follows a successful bank executive named Johny,...

Get Updates Via Email

Enter your email to be updated with all the latest news and special announcements.